Relationships

Before Babies Bucket List

Confession: Dave and I talk about babies. A lot.

BUT we are still committed to waiting until 2012 for several reasons.  Saving up and couple time top the list.

Over the last couple of days, I have been thinking of how different life will be once we do have kids.  Not bad at all, just different.  It is a fact that there are some things that are easier to do without kids.  I am going to start making a list of things and I hope you will help me add to it.  They dont have to be big things, or expensive things, or even outings – no specifics, just thoughts of things you have done, would like to do, or would have liked to do before 2 becomes 3, etc.

#1 – Take Dave to Europe.  Ever since my Study Abroad in 2007, I love Europe and long to go back often.  I want to share my love of all things European with my new husband.  It will be hard enough to drag him along to museums and cathedrals without him getting bored, let alone children, plus the extra cost and their low appreciation as kids.  They don’t get to go to Europe until their appreciation would be worth the cost, probably not until their 20’s.    Anyway, that was a tangent, but that is the big #1.

#2 – go to Magic Mountain.  Long days at amusement parks seem to be a battle with children, waiting in line and they’re tired and whiney at the end of the day, not to mention the begging for the junk in the gift shops.  Again, no kids at theme parks until they are old enough to last the whole day having fun.

#3 – Short weekend vacations to near by locations. Camping comes to mind.

That’s all I’ve got for now.  I know that those of you who have kids might say, dont put off having kids just to be able to go to Magic Mountain! I know, Im not, but since we are waiting, we might as well take advantage of our us time now.

What are other things you would put on the list?

All that being said, we really look forward to having a few of these:

One thought on “Before Babies Bucket List

  1. wow it’s a good thing we are friends bc both of those things josh and I r planning on doing as well! We should keep making a bucket list together well not all together bc as much fun as that would be…dave and josh like alone time with us! lol. Can’t wait to come visit ur new place and vice versa.

Leave a Reply

